Skip to content

Archive for

** LSU Election 2017 Update **

Attention Laurentian Students’ Union members,

We, the Returning Officers of LSU Election 2017, would like to announce the results of the LSU nomination period. At the close of the nomination period, seven nomination packages had been submitted, each for one of the seven available positions. This created a unique situation, the consequences of which we feel must be explained below:

  1. For each position available, only one candidate came forward. LSU BY-LAW 18 – Section 2 Paragraph d. states “if there is only one candidate for a board position, that person will be considered acclaimed”. Therefore, we have declared each of the candidates ACCLAIMED in their respective positions, pending ratification by majority of the current Board of Directors no less than ten (10) days following this announcement.
  2. As there are no positions without an acclaimed candidate, we sought guidance from the Election Act, as per LSU BY-LAW 17, which states “where the LSU Constitution does not specify otherwise, the Ontario Elections Act shall be considered the governing policy.”

The the Election Act, R.S.O. 1990, states:
“Election by acclamation
28. If, at the close of nominations, only one candidate has filed a nomination paper, the returning officer shall close the election and declare such candidate to be duly elected and shall make his or her return to the Chief Electoral Officer as provided by section 81. R.S.O. 1990, c. E.6, s. 28; 2007, c. 15, s. 40 (1).”

Therefore, it is our duty to declare this, LSU Election 2017, an “Election by Acclamation”. We would like to extend our congratulations to the following candidates:

President of the Laurentian Students’ Union: Melanie Van Nieuw Aemerongen
Vice-President Administration & Finance: Meaghan Schitka
Vice-President Student Life: Courtney Bolak
Director for the School of Social Work: Katie Marman
Indigenous Students’ Commissioner: Sara Rose
Equity Commissioner: Mandi Whiting
Part-Time & Mature Students’ Commissioner: Matthew Knox

These acclamations will be ratified by majority vote during a board meeting to be held no sooner than ten days after this notification has been sent.

If you wish to dispute any of these nominations, please contact the Returning Officers, whose contact information is located below this message, or your current student representative. You have ten (10) days from this announcement to make any disputes regarding the validity of these acclamations.

Thank you, and best of luck on your midterms,

Andrew Rowlands
Returning Officer

Hayley Murdoch-Fyke
Returning Officer

John Jackson
Returning Officer