Skip to content

Get to know our Incoming President of the LSU

Melle Profile Pic.png

Hey LU Barrie!

My name is Melle and it’s a pleasure to introduce myself as your 2017-18 President of Laurentian Students’ Union!

This marks my third term working for the LSU. I first started as Vice President of Campaigns & Advocacy in 2014-15 and held the position of President in 2015-16. I am a fourth year Bachelor of Social Work student come September. I have been working within the mental health sector for a few years in Simcoe County and Greater Toronto Area.

These final two years will be different as we say goodbye to the Business and Arts students, our wonderful sessional faculty and full-time faculty and helpful administration representatives. To the students embarking on their journey to new institutions or transitioning to Sudbury campus, I promise you if you require assistance myself and Laurentian Students’ Union will do everything we can to ensure smooth sailing.

To the students remaining on Barrie campus, please do not hesitate to visit me in the office, contact me via email or on Facebook. My hypothetical door is always open! I am confident that although this coming year may be a little different, it will be a great one! We will persevere and continue to stay bold, driven and ambitious until our degrees are completed!

Warm regards!

Melle Van Ameron, Incoming President of the LSU

